About the Board

SealThe Iowa Dental Board is a state agency charged with the overall responsibility for regulating the professions of dentistry, dental hygiene, and dental assisting in the state of Iowa.

The Board consists of nine members appointed by the Governor, and confirmed by the Iowa Senate, to serve three-year terms. Five members are licensed dentists, two members are licensed dental hygienists, and two members represent the public. 

Our Mission

The Board's mission is to ensure that all Iowans receive professional, competent, and safe dental health care of the highest quality. In pursuit of this mission, the Iowa Dental Board performs these primary functions:

  • Administers examinations for the testing of dentists, dental hygienists and dental assistants;
  • Issues licenses, registrations, and permits to qualified practitioners;
  • Sets standards for license, registration, and permit renewal and continuing education;
  • Enforces Iowa laws, which regulate the practice of dentistry, dental hygiene and dental assisting and investigates complaints concerning violations of the dental practice act and Board rules;
  • Conducts disciplinary hearings and actively monitors the compliance of licensees with Board orders; and
  • Adopts rules and establishes standards for practitioners pursuant to its authority under Iowa Code.

Learn about the Iowa Dental Board and read about the Board's recent and future activity: