Iowa Professional Licensing Division Real Estate Appraisers Photo Header
Professional Licensing Home
About the Real Estate Appraiser Board
Board Members
Contact Board Staff

Code of Iowa 543D

Administrative Rules - 193F

Continuing Education Requirements

A minimum of 28 credit hours in approved continuing education programs acquired during the two year renewal period. Carryover hours from a previous renewal term are not allowed. Iowa will accept any continuing education programs approved by either the Appraisal Qualifications Board (AQB) or other state appraiser boards (providing supporting documentation from the licensing board is attached).  Qualifying education can count for continuing education.  However, continuing education can not count for qualifying education.  You may review approved courses under "Iowa Approved Courses." 

Continuing education topics must be directly related to appraisal such as:
1. real estate appraisal law and rules;
2. report writing;
3. cost approach;
4. sales approach;
5. income approach and USPAP.

A minimum of 7 of the required 28 credit hours must be the 7 hour National USPAP Update course.

All of the required 28 credit hours may be completed online.

All courses must be at least 3 hours in length in order to qualify.  For complete details, refer to Chapter 11 of Administrative Rules 193F.

Beginning with renewal year 2012, 7 hours of report writing is no longer required as a condition of renewal.

Beginning with 2013 renewals all required credit hours may be taken online.







 

Copyright © 2002 The State of Iowa. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Statement.