Iowa Professional Licensing Division Real Estate Salespersons and Brokers Photo Header
Professional Licensing Home
About the Real Estate Commission
Commission Members
Contact Commission Staff
Frequently Asked Questions
Map and Driving Directions
to Our Office

Code of Iowa
Law Index -- Real Estate License Related Law

Administrative Rules
Chapter 193E Real Estate Brokers and Salespersons Index (PDF)
Chapter 193E Real Estate Brokers and Salespersons Analysis (PDF)
Rule Changes --193E Real Estate Brokers and Salespersons

2003 R03-03

Commission Approved for Notice of Intended Action: July 17, 2003
Filed as Notice of Intended Action: July 17, 2003
Published as: ARC# 2673B August 6, 2003
Public Hearing: August 26, 2003
Appearance Administrative Rules Review : September 10, 2003
Commission terminated: September 11, 2003
Terminated Published: ARC# 2927 B November 12, 2003

ARC# 2673B

Notice of Intended Action

Pursuant to the authority of Iowa Code sections 543B.18 and 543B.27, the Real Estate Commission hereby proposes to amend Chapter 9, "Fees," Iowa Administrative Code.

The proposed amendment is intended to reduce license fees. 2003 Iowa Acts, House File 655, eliminated the Real Estate Commission Fund, which will result in over funding.

A public hearing will be held on August 26, 2003, at 10 a.m. in the Second Floor Professional Licensing Conference Room, 1920 SE Hulsizer, Ankeny, Iowa, at which time persons may present their views on the proposed amendment either orally or in writing. At the hearing, persons who wish to speak will be asked to give their names and addresses for the record and to confine their remarks to the subject of the proposed amendment.

Consideration will be given to all written suggestions or comments received on or by the end of the business day on August 26, 2003. Comments should be addressed to Roger Hansen, Executive Officer, Iowa Real Estate Commission, 1920 SE Hulsizer, Ankeny, Iowa 50021, or faxed to (515)281-7411. E-mail may be sent to

This amendment is intended to implement Iowa Code section 543B.27.

(Note: The crossed out numbers are the presnet fees, the underlined numbers the proposed fees)

193E—9.1(543B) Fees.

9.1(1) Original license or renewal.
Broker license $170 120

Additional officer or partner license $50 30

Firm license $170 120

Branch office license $50 30

Trade name license $50 30

Salesperson license $125 75

9.1(2) Fee for renewal of broker and salesperson licenses between January 1 and
January 30 following expiration of license is the regular renewal fee plus $25
reinstatement fee.

Broker license $195 145

Salesperson license $150 100

Reinstatement fee is not applicable to a firm license, additional officer license, additional partner license, trade name license, or branch office license.

9.1(3) Fee for certification of license is $25.

View amendments filed Notice of Intended Action

Copyright © 2002 The State of Iowa. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Statement.