Approved for Notice of Intended Action: July 1, 1999
Filed as Notice of Intended Action: July 23, 1999
Published as ARC # 9258A August 11, 1999
Public Hearing: August 31, 1999
Commission Adopted: September 23, 1999
Date Filed Adopted: October 1, 1999
Adopted Published ARC # 9432A
Effective Date: November 24, 1999
ESTATE COMMISSION [193E]
Adopted and Filed
Pursuant to the authority of Iowa Code section
543B.9, the Real Estate Commission hereby amends Chapter 3, "Pre-license Education
and Continuing Education," Iowa Administrative Code.
The amendments to Chapter 3 establish specific guidelines for
approval of live classroom courses, distance education courses
and home-study courses.
Other amendments are for purposes of removing dates that have
An additional amendment clarifies that non-resident
broker and broker associates and licensees who qualify under
(543B) or obtain a reciprocal license shall complete the brokerage
management courses on a one-time-only basis, at the time of the
licensee’s first Iowa renewal, unless there is a reciprocal
education agreement between the states.
Notice of Intended Action was published in the August 11, 1999,
Iowa Administrative Bulletin as ARC 9258A. The adopted amendments
are identical to those published under Notice.
No one appeared at the public hearing held August 31, 1999, at
9 am. in the Professional Licensing Conference Room, Second Floor,
Department of Commerce Building, 1918 SE. Hulsizer, Ankeny, IA.
We received one e-mail from a course developer, asking for clarification
as to whether the distance education guidelines that apply to Internet
courses also apply to courses delivered on the Intranet.
These amendments were approved at the September 23, 1999, meeting
of the Real Estate Commission.
These amendments are intended to implement Iowa Code chapter 543B.15.
These amendments will become effective on November 24, 1999.
The following amendments are adopted.
Item 1. Amend subrule 3.2(2) as follows:
licensed on June 1, 1994, and thereafter must complete 36 hours
classroom education to renew to active status by December 31
of the third year of licensure.
To maintain active status, all first- time salesperson renewals
shall complete thirty-six commission-approved classroom hours by
December 31 of the third year of licensure. The following courses
satisfy the first license renewal continuing education requirement:
Developing Professionalism and Ethical Practices…...
Item 2. Amend subrule 3.2(3) as follows:
January 1, 1996, the The required course of
study for the broker licensing examination shall consist of at
least 72 classroom hours. Approved courses shall be completed within
24 months prior to taking the broker examination and shall include
the following subjects:
Contract law and contractwriting ……………………………………8
Iowa real estate trust accounts……………………………………… 8
Principles of appraising & market analysis ……………………… 8
Real estate law and agency law ………………………………… 8
Real estate finance……………………………………………………8
Federal and state laws affecting Iowa practice ……………………8
Real estate office organization ……………………………………8
Real estate office administration ……………………………………8
Human resources management ……………………………………8
Item 3. Amend subrule 3.3(2) as follows:
3.3(2) As a requirement of license renewal in an active status,
each real estate licensee shall complete a minimum of 36 hours
of approved programs, courses or activities. The continuing education
must be completed during the three calendar years of the license
term and cannot be carried over to another license term.
Beginning with brokers and broker-associates renewing December
2001 and thereafter and salespersons renewing December 1998 and
thereafter, approved courses in the following subjects shall be
completed to renew to active status, except in accordance with
Law update 8 hours
Ethics 4 hours
Electives 24 hours
courses in the following subjects shall be completed one-time-only
by all brokers and broker-associates, licensed prior
to January 1,1998,. beginning with those licensees renewing December
1998 and 1999, and ending with those licensees renewing December
2000: All brokers and broker associates licensed prior to January
1, 1998, shall complete courses in the following subjects on a
one-time-only basis. Non resident licensees are exempt if an education
agreement is in place between Iowa and the nonresident state. Brokers
and broker associates who have completed the brokerage management
courses, as part of the 72-hour broker prelicense, are not required
to repeat the courses and shall comply with the requirements of
3.3(2) to maintain active status.
Real estate office administration 8 hours
Real estate office organization 8 hours
Human resources management 8 hours
Electives 12 hours
Substantially similar courses may be substituted in accordance
with 3.2(5). To qualify for consideration, the course content must
reflect current brokerage practices and should have been completed
during the three calendar years of the license term, or within
a reasonable period of time prior to expiration of the license.
Item 4. Amend subrule 3.4(1) as follows:
3.4(1) Qualifying activity. The commission may approve live classroom instruction,
and distance education programs and paper
and pencil home-study courses, and activities subject to the following conditions:
a. The course pertains to real estate topics that are integrally
related to the real estate industry; and
b. The course allows the participants to achieve a high level
of competence in serving the objectives of consumers who engage
the services of licensees; and c. The course qualifies for at least
three credit hours. ; and
d. The course application is accompanied by a comprehensive course
outline that includes: Requirements for live instruction courses.
The commission may approve live classroom programs, subject to
the following requirements. The course application is accompanied
by a comprehensive course outline that includes:
for each major topic that specify the level of knowledge or
the student should
demonstrate upon completing the course.
of the instructional methods utilized to accomplish the learning
of all instructor and student course materials.
examination(s) or the diagnostic assessment methods(s) utilized
the course learning objectives
description of the plan in place to periodically review course
material with regard to changing
statement of any attendance make-up policy that the school
has in place.
e. The commission may approve distance education
programs, subject to the following requirements:
The provider’s purpose or mission statement
is available to the public.
(2) The course outline must include clearly stated learning objectives
and desired student competencies for each module of instruction
and a description of how the program promotes interaction between
the learner and the program.
(3) Course content must be accurate and up-to-date. Provider must
describe the plan in place to periodically review course material
with regard to changing national and state statutes.
(4) Course must be designed to ensure that student progress is
evaluated at appropriate intervals and mastery of the material
is achieved before a student can progress through the course material.
(5) Qualified individuals are involved in the design of the course.
Provider must list individuals who provide technical support
to students and state the specific times that support is available.
A manual shall be provided to each registered student. It shall
include, but not be limited to; faculty contact information,
student assignments and course requirements, broadcast schedules,
information, passing scores, resource information, fee
schedule and refund policy.
(8) Provider must retain a signed statement by the student that
affirms that the student completed the required work and examinations.
(9) Providers must state in the course materials that the information
presented in the course should not be used as a substitute
for competent legal advice.
(10) Courses submitted for approval must be sufficient in scope
and content to justify the hours requested by the provider.
(f) Requirements for paper and pencil home-study courses. The commission
may approve paper and pencil home-study courses, subject
to the following requirements:
must be arranged in chapter format and include a table of contents.
statements must be included for each chapter (a preview of
the content of the chapter).
must be designed to ensure that student progress is evaluated
at appropriate intervals.
process shall measure
what each student has learned and not learned
at regular intervals throughout each module of the course.
must be completed
and returned to the provider to receive credit
for the course.
exams must contain a minimum of 30 questions for a three-hour
course and 60 questions for
a six-hour course.
passing score of 90 percent is required to receive credit for
a course. There is
to the number
of times a final exam
may be taken to achieve a passing score.
have six months from the date of purchase to complete all quizzes
pass the final exam.
must include information that clearly informs the licensee
of the course
score required, chapter
quiz completion requirements and any
other relevant information regarding
must state in the course materials that the information presented
course should not be used
as a substitute for
competent legal advice.
must retain a signed statement by the student that affirms
student completed the required
work and exams.
must be available to answer student questions or provide assistance
during normal business
submitted for approval must be sufficient in scope and content
e.g. It is conducted by individuals
who have shown proof of attendance
instructor development workshop
within 12 months preceding
approval by the commission and
met the instructor
qualification criteria. Guest speakers
and individuals currently
certified by a nationally recognized
organization that requires similar
instructor standards are exempt,
with prior approval
of the commission, from the following
and the instructor development
requirement. An applicant may be
an instructor when it is determined
that the applicant evidences
(1) the ability to
teach and communicate and (2) in-depth
knowledge of the subject matter
proposing to teach.
(1) and (2) No change.
Roger L. Hansen, Executive Secretary
Iowa Real Estate Commission