Iowa Professional Licensing Division Real Estate Salespersons and Brokers Photo Header
Professional Licensing Home
About the Real Estate Commission
Commission Members
Contact Commission Staff

Code of Iowa
Law Index -- Real Estate License Related Law

Continuing Education Requirements

All salespersons and all brokers must complete the following prior to December 31st of their renewal year if renewing active:

  • 8 hours Law Update
  • 4 hours Ethics
  • 24 hours Commission approved Electives  

Up to 24 hours may be taken by correspondence/home study during each three year renewal period.

During each three year renewal period a course may be taken for credit only once.  A course may be repeated for credit ONLY if the course numbers and instructors are different.

All brokers and salespersons can, at any time between  July 1 and December 31 of the year of renewal, take and pass the appropriate licensing exam instead of completing the required continuing education. You must contact the Commission to obtain an authorization letter for admittance to take the exam. Please send your written request to take the exam in lieu of continuing education to Licensing Specialist or by FAX: 515-725-9032. When you pass the test you will automatically be given an application – do NOT use this to renew!

Please note that there are no carry over hours on continuing education and to renew active all continuing education must be done no later than the December 31st of the year of your renewal.  If you do not have your continuing education done no later than December 31st you will have to renew to the inactive status or allow your license to expire.

Licensees residing in the following states will sign an affidavit to verify continuing education requirements:

  • Alabama, Arkansas, Colorado, Georgia, Louisiana, Minnesota, Mississippi, Nebraska, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Dakota, and Tennessee.

All other states must comply with Iowa's 36 hour continuing education requirement. We can accept the following courses to meet the 24 hour elective requirement:

  • Courses approved by the real estate licensing body in the state of residence for their real estate continuing education requirements as long as the courses are not specific to that state's real estate license law and/or rules.
  • Any courses approved by the National Association of Realtors (NAR.)

Return to Real Estate Home Page

Comments/Report Bad Links

Copyright © 2002 The State of Iowa. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Statement.