Iowa Professional Licensing Division Real Estate Salespersons and Brokers Photo Header
Professional Licensing Home
About the Real Estate Commission
Commission Members
Contact Commission Staff
Frequently Asked Questions
Map and Driving Directions
to Our Office

Code of Iowa
Law Index -- Real Estate License Related Law

Administrative Rules
Chapter 193E Real Estate Brokers and Salespersons Index (PDF)
Chapter 193E Real Estate Brokers and Salespersons Analysis (PDF)
Rule Changes --193E Real Estate Brokers and Salespersons

1997 Meeting Minutes

1918 SE Hulsizer Road
Ankeny, Iowa

December 11, 1997--MINUTES

Present: Russ Nading, Chair; Terry Rogers, Evelyn Rank, and Theresa Loffredo. Mark Odden was absent.

Others present: Roger Hansen, Executive Secretary; Pam Griebel, Assistant Attorney General; Susan Griffel; Michael Sharp, and Chris Wood, Secretary.

The meeting was called to order by Nading at 9:00 a.m.

Rank moved, seconded by Rogers to approve the minutes of November 6, 1997, as submitted. Motion carried unanimously.

The January Investigative Committee will be Nading, Rank, Odden and March 4 will be Nading, Loffredo, Rogers. There will be a change of meeting dates for April and May due to conflicts.

The Commission members each received a communication from Frontier Insurance and a copy of the insurance policy.

Sharp submitted written audit report and stated he is now starting his second trip to brokers around the state.

Griffel reported the computer based courses are gaining interest with good results.

Hansen reported activity is picking up on the Internet. The complaint numbers for 1997 are down slightly.

Griebel pointed out the limitations of the Gift law, and discussed the proposed waiver rules. She has written an article for the Newsletter regarding what rights are licensees giving up when they settle informally.

Rogers moved, seconded by Rank to accept the following time-share filings:

Greensprings Plantation Resort, Williamsburg, Virginia

Grand Beach Resort a Condominium, Lake Buena Vista, Florida

Motion carried unanimously.

Rogers moved, seconded by Rank that the Commission enter into closed session pursuant to Iowa Code section 21.5(1)(d)(f). Roll call vote as follows: Loffredo, aye; Rank, aye; Rogers, aye and Nading, aye. Motion carried.

The closed session was tape recorded and minutes were recorded. The Commission entered into closed session at 9:50 a.m. and arose therefrom at 12:10 p.m.

Rogers moved, seconded by Rank to close the following complaint cases:

97-097 A97-085 97-083 97-112 97-101 97-099 97-114 97-118

and to find probable cause on the following cases:

96-081 97-113

Motion carried unanimously.

Roger Halvorson, Administrator joined the meeting at 11:15 a.m. He reported there was a toll free telephone number for the fax-back process.

Loffredo moved, seconded by Rank to adjourn the meeting at 12:14 p.m.

Roger L. Hansen
Executive Secretary

Map to our Office
Comments/Report Bad Links

Copyright © 2002 The State of Iowa. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Statement.