Iowa Professional Licensing Division Real Estate Salespersons and Brokers Photo Header
Professional Licensing Home
About the Real Estate Commission
Commission Members
Contact Commission Staff
Frequently Asked Questions
Map and Driving Directions
to Our Office

Code of Iowa
Law Index -- Real Estate License Related Law

Administrative Rules
Chapter 193E Real Estate Brokers and Salespersons Index (PDF)
Chapter 193E Real Estate Brokers and Salespersons Analysis (PDF)
Rule Changes --193E Real Estate Brokers and Salespersons

1998 Meeting Minutes

1918 SE Hulsizer Road
Ankeny, Iowa

January 22, 1998
Telephone Conference Meeting--

Present: Russ Nading, Chair; Terry Rogers, Evelyn Rank, Theresa Loffredo, and Mark Odden.

Others present: Roger Hansen, Executive Secretary; Pam Griebel, Assistant Attorney General; Roger Halvorson, Administrator, Gene Stanbrough, Investigator, Susan Griffel, and Paul McLaughlin, public.

The meeting was called to order by Nading at 9:00 a.m.

Rogers moved, seconded by Loffredo to approve the minutes of December 11, 1997, as submitted. Motion carried unanimously.

The March 4, 1998 Investigative Committee will be Nading, Loffredo, and Odden. There will be a change of meeting date for September due to conflicts.

Rank moved, seconded by Rogers that the Commission enter into closed session pursuant to Iowa Code section 21.5(1)(d). Roll call vote as follows: Odden, aye; Rogers, aye; Nading, aye. Rank, aye; and Loffredo, aye. Motion carried. The closed session was tape recorded and minutes were recorded. The Commission entered into closed session at 9:15 a.m. and arose therefrom at 9:45 a.m.

Loffredo moved, seconded by Nading to close the following complaint cases:

97-105 97-108 97-056 97-107 X97-006
97-099 97-114 97-118

and to find probable cause on the following cases:

97-127 98-002

Motion carried unanimously.

Odden moved, seconded by Rogers to allow Darrell Scott to reinstate his salesperson license with the payment of the renewal fee and the $900.00 reinstatement fee due. Motion carried unanimously

Rogers moved, seconded by Odden to grant a salesperson license to Edith Elder.

Motion carried unanimously.

Odden moved, seconded by Rogers to close case 96-085. Motion carried unanimously.

No Commissioner reports.

Roger Halvorson, Administrator reported that he is following-up on the re-appointments for the Commission, preparing for budget hearings next week, and solicited comments and feedback about the newsletter.

Griebel reported on making the presentation to the Court of Appeals regarding the Henze case and now awaiting the court decision. She has drafted the proposed waiver rules and they will be ready to discuss at the March meeting.

Griffel reported that PSI is taking over the administration of the examination from ITC as of July 1, 1998. PSI will close the testing site in Omaha, Nebraska, but will continue sites in Sioux City, Des Moines, and Cedar Rapids. PSI will also offer testing Monday through Saturday.

Hansen reported on attending the presentation at the Court of Appeals. He noted Griebel's outstanding presentation and representation of the Commission. He attended special ARELLO Committee meetings for the Program Committee and Affinity Group Task Force. The meetings were informative and included topics that are timely, relating to affinity group practices and commission rebates. The Commission will continue to monitor developments in other jurisdictions.

Nading moved, seconded by Rank to accept the following subdivided land renewal:

Hot Springs Village, Hot Springs, Arkansas
Developer: Cooper Communities, Inc.
Bella Vista, Arkansas

Motion carried unanimously.

Odden moved, seconded by Rank to adjourn the meeting at 10:15 a.m. Motion carried unanimously

Roger L. Hansen
Executive Secretary

 Map to our Office
Comments/Report Bad Links

Copyright © 2002 The State of Iowa. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Statement.