Iowa Professional Licensing Division Real Estate Salespersons and Brokers Photo Header
Professional Licensing Home
About the Real Estate Commission
Commission Members
Contact Commission Staff
Frequently Asked Questions
Map and Driving Directions
to Our Office

Code of Iowa
Law Index -- Real Estate License Related Law

Administrative Rules
Chapter 193E Real Estate Brokers and Salespersons Index (PDF)
Chapter 193E Real Estate Brokers and Salespersons Analysis (PDF)
Rule Changes --193E Real Estate Brokers and Salespersons

1998 Meeting Minutes

1918 SE Hulsizer Road
Ankeny, Iowa

March 5, 1998--MINUTES

Present: Russ Nading, Chair; Terry Rogers, Theresa Loffredo, and Mark Odden. Evelyn Rank was absent.

Others present: Roger Halvorson, Administrator; Roger Hansen, Executive Secretary; Pam Griebel, Assistant Attorney General; Susan Griffel, Michael Sharp, and Chris Wood, Secretary.

The meeting was called to order by Nading at 9:00 a.m.

Loffredo moved, seconded by Rogers to approve the minutes of January 22, 1998, as submitted. Motion carried unanimously.

The ARELLO Directors meeting will be held in St. Louis April 15-19. It will not change the April 23, 1998 meeting date. The Investigative Committee for April will be Rank, Rogers and Nading, and May will be Odden, Loffredo and Nading.

At 9:04 Ted Oswald appeared before the Commission requesting a substitution of the two year salesperson experience. Odden moved, seconded by Loffredo to deny this request. Motion carried unanimously.

Loffredo moved, seconded by Rogers to deny the request for substitution of the two years salesperson experience for Kirk Stauss. Motion carried unanimously.

At 9:15 representatives from the Iowa Association of Realtors appeared before the Commission with concerns regarding affinity programs. Those present: Martin Lee, Gail Flagel, Paul McLauglin and John Busch.

Halvorson updated the Commission on current legislative bills and budget.

Sharp submitted his written audit report. He has started his second trip around the state.

Griffel reported Pam Griebel, Roger Hansen, and Russ Nading would be part of the next instructor's development workshop.

Hansen reported 41 open complaint cases. He is preparing for the ARELLO Board of Director's meeting in April.

Griebel reported the Court of Appeals found in the favor of the Commission regarding Irma Henze. She is also going to be a moderator for the Administrator Workshop at the ARELLO meeting in April.

Odden moved, Rogers seconded to accept the time-share consolidation for The Falls Village Resort, Branson, Missouri; Developer Bluegreen Resorts, Inc. Motion carried unanimously.

Public Comment:

Paul McLaughlin, IAR, addressed the Commission regarding "exclusive buyers agents".

Odden moved, seconded by Loffredo that the Commission enter into closed session pursuant to Iowa Code section 21.5(1)(d)(f). Roll call vote as follows: Loffredo, aye; Rogers, aye; Odden, aye, and Nading, aye. Motion carried. The closed session was tape recorded and minutes were recorded. The Commission entered into closed session at 10:35 a.m. and arose therefrom at 10:40 p.m.

Rogers moved, seconded by Odden to accept the Informal Settlement in Case 96-081.Motion carried unanimously.

Rogers moved, seconded by Odden to adjourn the meeting at 10:40 a.m. Motion carried unanimously.

 Map to our Office
Comments/Report Bad Links

Copyright © 2002 The State of Iowa. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Statement.