Consumer Information Energy Telecommunications
Elizabeth S. Jacobs
Nick Wagner
Board Member
Sheila K. Tipton
Board Member

Iowa Broadband Deployment Governance Board

On May 14, 2009, 2009 Iowa Acts, Senate File 376, was signed into law creating this Governance Board. It consists of 11 voting members representing educational users; urban and residential users; cable, wireline, and wireless providers; the Iowa Utilities Board, Economic Development Board, and Telecommunications and Technology Commission; and four non-voting members representing the Iowa House and Senate. The Governance Board's duties include establishing a comprehensive plan for the deployment and sustainability of high-speed broadband service for Iowa. Administrative support for this Board is jointly provided by the Iowa Utilities Board, Economic Development Board, and the Telecommunications and Technology Commission. For more information about the Governance Board, including its meeting schedule, visit For information about the related ARRA Collaboration web site, please read the January 27, 2010, news release.