IOWA CIVIL RIGHTS COMMISSION

HomeEspanolLocal Civil and Human Rights AgenciesCivil Rights PublicationsHow to File a Discrimination ComplaintHow to Report DiscriminationStatutes, Rules and ICRC DecisionsDiscrimination Complaint SettlementsFair Housing Laws and InformationPreventing and Responding to Hate CrimesCivil Rights Resources and Diversity Best PracticesCivil Rights History QuizzesJoin a State Board or Commission
FY13 Action Performance Plan | 01-08-04CommissMtgMinutes.doc | General Information about the Commission and Civil Rights | Discrimination Complaint Process and Forms | Table of Classes of People Protected from Discrimination | For Our Customers | Customer Satisfaction Survey | US DOJ Recovery Act Notice of Civil Rights Obligations | Search | 

League of Iowa Human & Civil Rights Agencies

The League of Iowa Human & Civil Rights Agencies is comprised of the Iowa Civil Rights Commission, Iowa Department of Human Rights, and all the local human and civil rights agencies across the state. To learn about the League, please visit its website at http://iowacivilrights.webs.com/. The list of local commissions is below.

Ames Human Relations Commission

515 Clark Avenue
Ames IA, 50010

(515) 239-5101
Fax (515) 239-5325

Sheila Lundt, Assistant to the City Manager
slundt@city.ames.ia.us

Ames Ordinance

Bettendorf Human Relations Commission

1609 State Street
Bettendorf, IA 52722

(563) 344-4470
Fax (563) 344-4012

Greg Jager, City Attorney
gjager@bettendorf.org

Bettendorf Ordinance
Burlington Human Rights Commission

400 Washington
Burlington, IA 52601
(319) 753-8178
Fax (319) 753-8101

Bev Hunter, Human Resources Manger
hunterb@burlingtoniowa.org
Burlington Ordinance

Cedar Falls Human Rights Commission

220 Clay Street
Cedar Falls, IA 50613

(319) 243-2712
Fax (319) 273-8655

Colleen Sole
Colleen.Sole@cedarfalls.com  

Cedar Falls Ordinance (Ch. 15)

Cedar Rapids Civil Rights Commission

425 2nd St SE, Suite 960
Cedar Rapids, IA 52401
(319) 286-5036
Fax (319) 286-5136

Karl Cassell
k.cassell@cedar-rapids.org
 

Cedar Rapids Ordinance
Clinton Human Rights Commission

611 South 3rd Street
Clinton IA 52732-2958
(563) 242-2144
Fax (563) 242-7775

Pat Van Loo, City Clerk
patvanloo@ci.clinton.ia.us 

Clinton Ordinance

Council Bluffs Civil Rights Commission

209 Pearl Street Council Bluffs IA 51503
(712) 328-4618
Fax (712) 322-9255

Tamra Madsen, Executive Director

tmadsen@councilbluffs-ia.gov

Richard Wade, City Attorney

rbwade@justice.com
Council Bluffs Ordinance (Ch. 1.40)

Davenport Civil Rights Commission

226 West 4th Street
Davenport IA 52801

(563) 326-7888
Fax (563) 326-7956

Judy Morrell, Executive Director

jam@ci.davenport.ia.us

 

Davenport Ordinance (Ch 2.58)

Decorah Human Rights Commission

 

 

400 Claiborne Drive

PO Box 138

Decorah IA 52101

(563) 382-3651

Jerry Freund, City Administrator                      jfreund@decorahia.org
Decorah Ordinance (Ch. 2.50)

Des Moines Human Rights Commission

602 Robert D. Ray Drive
Des Moines IA 50309
(515) 283-4284
Fax (515) 283-4270

Rudy Simms, Executive Director

rusimms@dmgov.org

Des Moines Ordinance (Ch. 62)

Rules and Regulations

Dubuque Human Rights Commission

1300 Main Street
Dubuque IA 52001

(563) 589-4190
Fax (563) 589-4299

Kelly Larson, Executive Director
klarson@cityofdubuque.org

 

Dubuque Ordinance (Ch. 27)

Fort Dodge Human Rights Commission

819 1st Ave. South
Fort Dodge IA 50501

(515) 576-2201
Fax (515) 573-5097

Jamie Anderson, Ex Director

janderson@fortdodgeiowa.org

Fort Dodge Ordinance (see Ch. 2.16, page 25)
Fort Madison Human Rights Commission

811 Avenue E
Fort Madison IA 52627
(319) 372-7700 (City Clerk:
ext. 206)
Fax (319) 372-8661

Melinda Blind, City Clerk
Gordon Liles, Chair

mblind@fortmadison-ia.com  

Fort Madison Ordinance

Grinnell Human Rights Commission

927 - 4th Avenue
Grinnell IA 50112

(641) 269-3703
Fax (641) 236-2626

Sheila Diehm, Administrative Assistant

adminsecretary@grinnelliowa.gov

Grinnell Ordinance

By Laws
Iowa City Human Rights Commission

410 E. Washington
Iowa City IA 52240
(319) 356-5022
Fax (319) 356-5009

Stefanie Bowers, Director

Stefanie-Bowers@iowa-city.org

 

Iowa City Ordinance(see title 2)
Keokuk Human Rights Commission 

City Hall
415 Bloundeau St.
Keokuk, IA 52632
(319) 524-2050
FAX (319) 524-5009

Dev Kiedaisch, Chair
DevKiedaisch@mac.com

Keokuk Ordinance   

Marshalltown Human Rights Commission

24 North Center Street
Marshalltown, IA 50158

(641) 754-5712
(641) 754-5717

Gregg Davison, Chair

gdavison@tlc-elca.org  

 

Marshalltown Ordinance (Ch. 16)

Mason City Human Rights Commission

10 First Street N.W.
Mason City IA 50401

(641) 421-3618
Fax (641) 421-3619

Lionel Foster, Executive Director
lfoster@masoncity.net

Mason City Ordinance (Ch. 2.10)
Mount Pleasant Human Rights Commission

1101 E. Henry Street

Mount Pleasant, IA  52641

319-385-1470

Sal Alaniz, Chair
sal@printgroupusa.com

Mount Pleasant Ordinance ( 9.1)
Ottumwa Human Rights Commission

105 East 3rd
Ottumwa IA 52501
(641) 683-0600
Fax (641) 683-0613

Katy Krieger, Administrative Assistant

kriegerk@ci.ottumwa.ia.us
Ottumwa Ordinance

Sioux City Human Rights Commission

405 6th Street
Suite 410
Sioux City IA 51102
(712) 279-6985 
Fax (712) 279-6326

Karen Mackey, Exec Director

kmackey@sioux-city.org

Sioux City Ordinance
Urbandale Civil Rights Commission

3600 - 86th St.

Urbandale IA 50322-0540

(515) 331-6703

Fax (515) 278-3905 

John Konior, Assistant to the City Manager

jkonior@urbandale.org

Urbandale Ordinance (Ch. 26)

Waterloo Commission on Human Rights

620 Mulberry, Suite 101
Waterloo IA 50703
(319) 291-4441
Fax (319) 291-4295

Abraham Funchess, Director

Abraham.Funchess@waterloo-ia.org

 

Waterloo Ordinance (Ch 2.10)

West Des Moines Human Rights Commission 

318 - 5th Street

PO Box 65320

West Des Moines IA  50265
515-273-0633
Fax (515) 222-3669

Sue Paterson-Nielsen, Director
sue.paterson-nielsen@wdm-ia.com

West Des Moines Ordinance (Ch. 2.9)