Facebook You Tube

Iowa Next
Learn More

Iowa Department of Cultural Affairs

Main Offices
Division Address Phone Fax
Iowa Department of Cultural Affairs 600 East Locust St., Des Moines, IA 50319 515.281.5111 515.282.0502
Iowa Arts Council 600 East Locust St., Des Moines, IA 50319 515.242.6194 515.242.6498
Produce Iowa - State Office of Media Production 600 East Locust St., Des Moines, IA 50319 515.725.0044 515.282.0502
State Historical Society of Iowa (Des Moines) 600 East Locust St., Des Moines, IA 50319 515.281.5111 515.282.0502
State Historical Society of Iowa (Iowa City) 402 Iowa Ave., Iowa City, IA 52240 319.335.3916 319.335.3935
Mary Cownie Director 515.281.8741 mary.cownie@iowa.gov
Chris Kramer Deputy Director 515.281.3223 chris.kramer@iowa.gov
Joan Kiernan Administrative Assistant 515.281.8741 joan.kiernan@iowa.gov
Lori Norem Accountant 515.281.4657 lori.norem@iowa.gov
Dee Richards Accountant 515.281.6345 dee.richards@iowa.gov
Public Relations and Communications
Tracy Arthur Marketing & Communications Manager 515.725.2920 tracy.arthur@iowa.gov
Jeff Morgan Public Information Officer 515.281.3858 jeff.morgan@iowa.gov
Abby Friedmeyer Graphic Designer and Website Coordinator 515.281.4011 abby.friedmeyer@iowa.gov
Iowa Arts Council
Matthew Harris Administrator 515.281.4641 matthew.harris@iowa.gov
Veronica O'Hern Grants & Programs Specialist 515.281.3293 veronica.ohern@iowa.gov
Joseph Piearson Community Resources Specialist 515.281.5773 joseph.piearson@iowa.gov
Produce Iowa - State Office of Media Production
Liz Gilman Executive Producer 515.725.0044 liz.gilman@iowa.gov
State Historical Society of Iowa
Susan Kloewer Administrator 515.281.8749 susan.kloewer@iowa.gov
Lisa Kent Development Coordinator & Grant Writer 515.281.8352 lisa.kent@iowa.gov
Joan Kiernan Membership 515.281.8741 joan.kiernan@iowa.gov
State Historical Museum of Iowa
Susan Kloewer Administrator 515.281.8749 susan.kloewer@iowa.gov
Kay Coats Collections Coordinator 515.281.8295 kay.coats@iowa.gov
Katie Craven National History Day in Iowa Coordinator 515.725.0506 katie.craven@iowa.gov
Jodi Evans Registrar 515.281.3295 jodi.evans@iowa.gov
Andrew Harrington Exhibits Manager 515.725.2921 andrew.harrington@iowa.gov
Leo Landis Museum Curator 515.281.4006 leo.landis@iowa.gov
Jessica Rundlett Special Projects and Outreach 515.281.7471 jessica.rundlett@iowa.gov
Pete Sixbey Conservator 515.281.4648 pete.sixbey@iowa.gov
State Historical Library & Archives
Anthony Jahn State Archivist 515.281.4895 anthony.jahn@iowa.gov
Sharon Avery Archivist 515.281.6863 sharon.avery@iowa.gov
Mary Bennett Special Collections Coordinator 319.335.3938 mary-bennett@uiowa.edu
Marvin Bergman Editor, the Annals of Iowa 319.335.3931 marvin-bergman@uiowa.edu
Jeffrey Dawson Archivist 515.281.7801 jeffrey.dawson@iowa.gov
Bruce Kreuger Archives Technician 515.281.4192 bruce.kreuger@iowa.gov
Mary Messinger Warehouse Operations Worker 515.281.0372 mary.messinger@iowa.gov
Delpha Musgrave Preservation Specialist - Local Government Records & Newspapers 515.281.5655 delpha.musgrave@iowa.gov
Jessica Nay Librarian - Iowa Digital Newspaper Project 515.725.3402 jessica.nay@iowa.gov
Becki Plunkett Special Collections Archivist 515.281.8976 becki.plunkett@iowa.gov
Charles Scott Special Collections Technician 319.335.3911 charles-scott@uiowa.edu
Paula Smith Librarian 319.335.1035 paula-smith@uiowa.edu
Shari Stelling Librarian 515.281.5070 shari.stelling@iowa.gov
State Historical Library & Archives - Reference Requests
Des Moines Library   515.281.6200 dm.library@iowa.gov
Iowa City Library   319.335.3926 library-reference@uiowa.edu
State Historic Sites
Jerome Thompson State Curator & Historic Sites Administrator 515.281.4221 jerome.thompson@iowa.gov
Holly Berg Visitor Center Manager (American Gothic House) 641.652.3352 aghc@iowatelecom.net
Christopher Blue Museum Technician, Western Historic Trails Center 712.366.4900 christopher.blue@iowa.gov
Alexandra Drehman Plum Grove Manager (Plum Grove) 319.351.5738 johctyhistscty@yahoo.com
Michelle Roseburrough Historical Society of Marshall County (Matthew Edel Blacksmith Shop) 641.752.6664 marshallhistory@live.com
Katie Hammond Louisa County Conservation (Toolesboro Mounds) 319.523.8381 lccb@lccb.org
Wade Schott Site Manager, Montauk 563.423.7173 montauk@acegroup.cc
Teressa Sward Museum Technician, Western Historic Trails Center 712.366.4900 teressa.sward@iowa.gov
Craig Van Otterloo Lyon County Conservation (Blood Run Historic Site) 712.472.2217 lyonccb@rconnet.com
State Historic Preservation Office
Steve King Deputy State Historic Preservation Officer 515.281.4013 steve.king@iowa.gov
Berry Bennett Preservation Program Manager 515.281.8742 berry.bennett@iowa.gov
Ralph Christian Historian 515.281.8697 ralph.christian@iowa.gov
Elizabeth Foster Hill National Register Coordinator 515.281.4137 beth.foster@iowa.gov
Kathy Gourley Archaeologist & Review and Compliance Coordinator 515.281.3989 kathy.gourley@iowa.gov
Daniel Higginbottom Archaeologist 515.281.8744 daniel.higginbottom@iowa.gov
Don Hirt GIS Specialist 515.281.7803 don.hirt@iowa.gov
Jennifer James Architectural Historian 515.242.6157 jennifer.james2@iowa.gov
Douglas Jones Archaeologist 515.281.4358 doug.jones@iowa.gov
Paula Mohr CLG Program Coordinator & Architectural Historian 515.281.6826 paula.mohr@iowa.gov
Cheryl Peterson Technical Preservation Specialist 515.242.6152 Cheryl.Peterson@iowa.gov
Lori Unick Technical Preservation Specialist 515.281.4129 lori.unick@iowa.gov
Kristen Vander Molen Grants Manager 515.281.4228 kristen.vandermolen@iowa.gov
State Historical Building
Peri Montufar Facility Rental & DCA Events Coordinator 515.281.3809 peri.montufar@iowa.gov
Vania BolandEvents & Customer Service Coordinator 515.281.8823 vania.boland@iowa.gov