Iowa Board of Nursing

Online Services

Board Information

Iowa Board of Nursing
RiverPoint Business Park
400 S.W. 8th Street, Suite B
Des Moines, IA 50309-4685
Tel: 515/281-3255
Fax: 515/281-4825

Office Hours:
8:00 a.m.–4:30 p.m.
Monday – Friday

Inactive Status

Inactive status means the licensee has not renewed their Iowa license, is not practicing nursing or the licensee has moved primary state of residence.

  • Requests for inactive status from licensees will NOT be accepted.
  • Licensees who do NOT renew their Iowa license within 30 days after expiration will automatically be placed on inactive status.

1. When your license is on inactive status, you are not required to obtain continuing education credit or to pay fees.

2. You may not practice nursing in Iowa when your nursing license is on inactive status.

  • For reactivation of an inactive license the licensee will be required to submit:

1. Reactivation Application (Online or Paper)
2. Two fingerprint cards
3. Signed Waiver
4. Total fee of $225.00; Paid Online or by personal check, money order or cashier's check ($175 Reactivation Fee & $50 Criminal History Background Check Fee) payable to the Iowa Board of Nursing.
5. The continuing education requirement for reactivation is 1.2 Continuing Education Units or 12 Contact Hours that were earned in the previous 12 months. Certificates of completion must be submitted with the reactivation application.

To reactivate your license, click on IBON Online Services and then Choose: Reactivate a License/Registration. You may also contact the board at the address to the left, or at the board’s e-mail address Iowa Board of Nursing, or call 515/281-4826. Include your name and address along with either your license or social security number.

  • Licensees who move to another compact state and are issued a license in the new compact state will have their Iowa license placed inactive immediately upon issuance of the new license. The licensee will need to forward their Iowa wallet card to the Iowa Board of Nursing office.

Compact states Include: Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, Idaho, Iowa, Kentucky, Maine, Maryland, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Wisconsin

  • Licensee’s, who inadvertently allow their license to become inactive and continue to work using the inactive license, will be brought to the attention of the Enforcement Unit for Investigation. Reactivation of an inactive license requires all of the items listed above.
  • Iowa law requires you to keep the board informed of any name or address changes, even when your license is on inactive status.

For information on how to reactivate your Iowa license. Click here reactivate.

Updated 11/12