- What are the requirements to E-prescribe controlled substances?
- How do I report my address change to the Iowa Board of Pharmacy?
- A new rule requires pharmacists to obtain two hours of CE in pharmacy law and two hours of CE in medicatino/patient safety. How can I identify these credits?
- What is DEA's policy regarding information a pharmacist may add or change on a Schedule II prescription?
- How do I become a licensed Drug Wholesaler in the state of Iowa?
- How does a pharmacy support person register?
- Do we need to be licensed to ship prescription devices to end users in Iowa?
- My pharmacy intends to sell nonprescription pseudoephedrine or ephedrine products. How do I record those sales?
- May a pharmacy honor a discount coupon for a controlled substance, including a pseudoephedrine product?
Within 10 days of an address change, submit the change to us in writing by mail, fax, or E-mail to Ann Jarnagin. It is helpful to put your license number and old and new address on the letter for reference.
A new rule requires pharmacists to obtain two hours of CE in pharmacy law and two hours of CE in medication/patient safety. How can I identify these credits?
ACPE Course identifiers in pharmacy law for pharmacists will end with “03P.” ACPE course identifiers in medication/patient safety for pharmacists will end with “05P.” To locate courses, check the P.L.A.N. website at https://www.acpe-accredit.org/pharmacists/programs.asp. Click on “Search P.L.A.N. Now” to open the search page. Select your search options and click “Search.”
What is DEA's policy regarding information a pharmacist may add or change on Schedule II prescription?
DEA's policy can be found here. The Board subrule regarding this issue is found at 10.21(5). Pharmacists have a corresponding responsibility with prescribers for the proper prescribing and dispensing of controlled substances and must ensure that prescriptions for controlled substances conform in all essential respects to the law and regulations.
Within 10 days of an employment change, submit the change to us in writing by mail, fax, or E-mail to Ann Jarnagin. It is necessary that you place your license number and old as well as new employment locations in that letter for our correct reference in changing your record.
Lloyd K. Jessen, R.Ph., J .D., Executive Director.
How many packages of pseudoephedrine may a pharmacist dispense without a prescription to an individual in a single day?
There is no limit to the number of packages. However, federal law limits the quantity of pseudoephedrine that may be dispensed by a pharmacist in a single transaction or a single day to 3600 mg. Iowa law limits the quantity of pseudoephedrine that may be dispensed within a 30-day period to 7500 mg. Refer to Board Rules in Chapter 10 (10.32) for more information regarding dispensing Schedule V substances without a prescription.
The Boards of Pharmacy and Medicine have adopted rules authorizing collaborative drug therapy management by protocol in both hospital and community settings, effective 10/1/2006. The Pharmacy Board rule is 657 I.A.C. 8.34 and includes specific requirements for a written protocol, pharmacist qualifications, and records. Only an authorized pharmacist may participate in collaborative practice by protocol.
The pharmacist's license must be current and in good standing and the pharmacist must meet one or more of the following criteria: (1) PharmD; (2) Board of Pharmaceutical Specialties certification; (3) Commission for Certification in Geriatric Pharmacy Certification; (4) completion of National Institute for Standards in Pharmacist Credentialing disease state management examination and credentialing; (5) completion of an American Society of Health-System Pharmacists pharmacy residency program; or (6) approval by the Board of Pharmacy.
How does a pharmacist request Board approval (the 6th option for qualification or authorization) to participate in drug therapy management by protocol?
The pharmacist should submit to the Board a written request addressing the following criteria: any additional training or education that would qualify the pharmacist to participate in a drug therapy management protocol, including continuing education courses in related topics; any past experience working in collaboration with prescribers in the area requested; evidence of the pharmacist's approval or certification as a pharmacy residency program director or preceptor; a history of the pharmacist's license or practice relevant to the therapy requested; and any other information the pharmacist believes may assist the Board in determining the pharmacist's qualification to participate in drug therapy management by protocol. Requests for Board approval must be received three weeks prior to a scheduled Board meeting to avoid delays.
Neither community practice protocols or hospital practice protocols need to be submitted to the Board. All protocols must be maintained and made available to both the Pharmacy and Medical Boards upon request.
Any person or business doing business in Iowa who administers, prescribes, distributes, manufactures, or dispenses any controlled substance must register under the Iowa Controlled Substances Act. Click here for Summary of Drugs and Schedules.
How do I become licensed through the Iowa Board of Pharmacy for a Pharmacy or a Nonresident Pharmacy?
All applications for these types of businesses are available from the Board office via phone, fax, mail, or E-mail requests to Diana Pirillo. All applications are to be completed in their entirety and submitted to the Board office with the check, cashiers check or money order for the appropriate fee made payable to the Iowa Board of Pharmacy. Applications are also available for download here: Pharmacy, and Nonresident Pharmacy.
All applications for a wholesaler's license are available from the Board office via phone, fax, mail, or E-mail requests to Cassie Lee. All applications are to be completed in their entirety and submitted to the Board office with the check, cashiers check or money order for the appropriate fee made payable to the Iowa Board of Pharmacy. Applications are also available for download here: Wholesaler.
Any pharmacy technician must be registered within 30 days of employment as a technician. A certified pharmacy technician must complete the application for certified pharmacy technician and submit the application with the registration fee of $40.
An individual who is beginning employment or training as a pharmacy technician and who is not yet certified must complete the application for technician trainee and submit the application with the registration fee of $20.
A person who does not register as a pharmacy technician within 30 days of starting employment or training as a technician must pay a penalty fee in addition to the registration fee. All fees must be in the form of a check, money order, or cashier's check payable to the Iowa Board of Pharmacy.
Any pharmacy support person must be registered within 30 days of employment as a pharmacy support person. A pharmacy support person must complete the application for pharmacy support person and submit the registration with the registration fee of $25.
A person who does not register as a pharmacy support person within 30 days of starting employment or training as a pharmacy support person must pay a penalty fee in addition to the registration fee. All fees must be in the form of a check, money order, or cashier's check payable to the Iowa Board of Pharmacy.
Yes, if the facility is administering any controlled drugs to patients, a CSA is required for that facility. Federal DEA registration is not required for care facilities.
Medical oxygen is a prescription drug. This means it can only be dispensed by authorized prescriber order. A Drug Wholesaler license is required if you are trans-filling oxygen containers or if you distribute medical oxygen at wholesale to entities other than patients.
A PA, with valid CSA and DEA registrations and within the limits of protocol with the PA's supervising physician, may prescribe any prescription drug or controlled substance except Schedule II depressants. Those substances are listed in Iowa Code 124.206, paragraphs 5.
Yes, Iowa statute requires each licensee or registrant who has firsthand knowledge of any acts or omissions in violation of Board rules to report these acts or omissions to the Board when they are committed by another licensed pharmacist, registered pharmacist-intern, registered pharmacy technician, or registered pharmacy support person. Each report shall include the name and address of the licensee or registrant and the date, time, and place of the incident in question. The Board is authorized to initiate disciplinary action against any licensee or registrant who fails to make a required report. Like other complainants, pharmacists, pharmacist-interns, pharmacy technicians, and pharmacy support persons who report suspected colleagues are offered civil immunity from liability, provided they did not act with malice.
May a pharmacy repackage drugs dispensed by the VA or another pharmacy into unit dose or other convenient packaging (e.g. long-term care facility patient)?
No, a pharmacist may not repackage prescription drugs that have already been dispensed by another pharmacy. This type of activity places both the repackaging pharmacist and pharmacy in violation of state and federal laws and causes the repackaging pharmacy to warrant a product that the repackaging pharmacy, in reality, knows nothing about.
Within 24 hours of discovering a theft or loss of controlled substances, notify DEA of that discovery. Within 14 days of discovery, complete and submit a report of the loss to DEA and the Boad of Pharmacy. Report to the EA using the online Form 106 at https://www.deadiversion.usdoj.gov/webforms/dtlLogin.jsp. Print a copy of the online DEA report and send it to the Board.
Online verification is available by clicking the "Verifications" link on the left of this screen. Requests for verification of license or registration may be submitted in writing to our office or you may call for verbal verification. We ask that you do not ask for verification on more than five licenses or registrations per telephone contact. Written requests may be submitted via fax, mail, or E-mail to Ann Jarnagin.
We can provide lists, labels, or computer files, sorted in any order you specify, of pharmacists, pharmacies, or any other Board licensees or registrants. See Pharmacy Directory for further information.
There are various means available for initial licensure in Iowa-exam, score transfer, license transfer (reciprocity), and foreign pharmacy graduate certification. See Original Licensure for more information.
First step is to complete the preliminary application for license transfer and submit it to NABP. When you receive your final reciprocity application, send it to this office with the appropriate fees. All reciprocity candidates must take and pass the Multistate Pharmacy Jurisprudence Examination (MPJE), Iowa Edition. See License Transfer for more information.
How long after taking the pharmacist licensure tests until I find out my scores? How will I be notified? What happens next?
Scores are released to boards anywhere between two to ten business days from the date the candidate sat for the exam.
Results of the NAPLEX and MPJE examination will be posted on our web site as soon as they are received in this office. Scores are listed according to candidates' Authorization to Test (ATT) numbers, which are assigned by the Chauncey Group International, NABP's testing administrator. Candidates need to write down this ATT number as the Authorization to Test is retained by the testing center.
Score reports will also be mailed to the address you used on your application unless we have received a change of address. If you have passed the exams necessary for licensure (NAPLEX and MPJE for original licensure and MPJE for reciprocity), the score report will also include your license number and the effective date. You will receive a wallet card and renewal certificate within the next couple of weeks. A framable wall license certificate will be ordered for you. That license should be delivered in 2-3 months.
The Iowa Pharmacy Law and Information Manual is available from IPA. An order form may be obtained from the Board office or from IPA. In addition, 657 Iowa Administrative Code (Board rules) is available on our web site (see Rules/Laws). Complete Iowa laws and rules can be viewed online (click here).
Assuming applications are complete and submitted with the appropriate fee payments, renewal applications (CSA, pharmacy, technician, support person, drug wholesaler) are usually processed within 24 to 48 hours, taking into consideration holidays or unanticipated complications in the Board office. Pharmacist license renewal applications are usually processed within five to ten days. Original applications for these same licenses and registrations, except pharmacist license, may take an extra day or two. Verbal and online verification of new license/registration numbers, issue dates, status and expiration dates should be available within 48 to 72 hours of our receipt of your application. It may take one to two weeks for you to receive your license/registration certificate.
A license is delinquent if not renewed. A license is inactive if the licensee failed to complete continuing education required for license renewal. A pharmacist may not practice pharmacy in Iowa if the pharmacist's license is inactive or delinquent.
This is my first renewal after obtaining my pharmacist license by examination (or score transfer). Do I have to submit CE? How should I fill out the CE section on the renewal form? What dates do I need CE on my next renewal?
New pharmacists obtaining license by examination or score transfer in Iowa are exempt from continuing education requirements for their first license renewal. On the renewal application in the CE section on the 2nd page write "Exempt--1st Renewal."
You will need to obtain CE for your next renewal. Programs must be completed between April (prior to the effective date of your license renewal) and June 30 of the year your license expires.
Board Rules require 15 contact hours of C.E. in courses dealing with drug therapy. How do I know if a course qualifies as drug therapy?
Drug therapy courses are identifiable by the ACPE program number. The final two numeric characters of a drug therapy course ID number will be "01" or "02."
No, under Iowa statute, all complaint files and investigative information in the Board's possession are privileged and confidential. These materials are not subject to public disclosure except to the licensee, but only if formal charges have been filed against the licensee. The material may, however, be released to the appropriate licensing authority in another state in which the licensee is licensed or has applied for a license. Formal statements of charges, settlement agreements, and final decisions of the Board are public records. The Board reports formal disciplinary actions to a disciplinary clearinghouse maintained by the National Association of Boards of Pharmacy and to the National Practitioner Databank.
Once formal charges have been filed, the case is referred to the Office of the Attorney General for prosecution and scheduled for an evidentiary hearing before the Board. State law encourages the Board to enter into informal settlement negotiations prior to the initiation of "contested case proceedings." If no settlement is reached, the case proceeds to hearing. At the hearing, the State's case is presented by an Assistant Attorney General. The licensee or registrant who is the Respondent in th e case may be represented by private counsel or may present his or her case defense to the Board.
In accordance with statutory requirements, an Administrative Law Judge (ALJ) from the Iowa Department of Inspections and Appeals presides over the Board hearings. The ALJ assists the Board in preparing the final decision based on the evidence presented at the hearing.
State law provides that all parties to a contested case have the right to appeal a final decision of the Board within 30 days.
Is a licensee or registrant required to disclose disciplinary actions, filed against his or her license? Must criminal charges be reported to the Board?
Yes, Iowa law requires you to disclose any disciplinary actions that have been filed against you. Furthermore, the licensee or registrant is required by Iowa Code section 272C.9(3) to report to the Board any adverse judgment in a professional malpractice action to which the licensee or registrant is a party, and every settlement of a claim against the licensee or registrant alleging malpractice. A licensee or registrant must also report and disclose any criminal convictions relating to the profession or affecting the individual's ability to practice the profession. All reports are to be submitted to the Board within 30 days of a final decision in a disciplinary or criminal action and within 30 days after final action in a malpractice claim. Failure to disclose either disciplinary actions, criminal convictions, or malpractice settlements could result in Board discipline.
There is currently no license required for the distribution of prescription medical devices directly to patients pursuant to the order of a qualified prescriber. This includes medical gases and oxygen.The distribution of prescription medical devices, including medical gases and oxygen, at wholesale to pharmacies, hospitals, prescribers, etc. in Iowa requires a wholesale drug license. The license application form is available on the Board of Pharmacy’s web site at http://www.state.ia.us/ibpe/pdf/50.pdf.
My pharmacy intends to sell nonprescription pseudoephedrine or ephedrine products. How do I record those sales?
If your pharmacy sells ephedrine and/or pseudoephedrine over the counter, you will need to request access to the National Precursor Log Exchange (NPLEx) by visiting www.NPLExSurvey.com. Please click on Iowa and complete the survey for an NPLEx account. Once your account has been verified, you will be contacted by Appriss, provider of NPLEx, to inform you of next steps.
May a pharmacy honor a discount coupon for a controlled substance, including a pseudoephedrine product?
A pharmacy may honor an original manufacturer’s discount coupon presented by a patient for the purchase of a controlled substance, including a pseudoephedrine-containing product. A pharmacy may not discount a controlled substance upon presentation of a copy of a manufacturer’s discount coupon for the product. A pharmacy may not offer or honor a discount coupon published or provided by the pharmacy or the pharmacy’s corporation. A pharmacy may accept and honor only an original manufacturer’s discount coupon. Additional information is available here.