A license to practice pharmacy shall expire on the second thirtieth day of June following the date of issuance of the license. A new pharmacist license issued between April 1 and June 29 will expire on the third thirtieth day of June following the date of issuance. The license renewal form shall be issued upon payment of a $180 fee.
Failure to renew the license before July 1 following expiration shall require a renewal fee of $360. Failure to renew the license before August 1 following expiration shall require a renewal fee of $450. Failure to renew the license before September 1 following expiration shall require a renewal fee of $540. Failure to renew the license before October 1 following expiration may require an appearance before the Board and shall require a renewal fee of $630. The provisions of Iowa Code section 147.11 shall apply to a license that is not renewed within five months of the expiration date. If you do not receive your renewal application by May 1 prior to expiration, contact our office or e-mail firstname.lastname@example.org or email@example.com.
If a license is not renewed before its expiration date, the license is delinquent and the licensee may not practice pharmacy in the state of Iowa until the licensee reactivates the delinquent license. A pharmacist who continues to practice pharmacy in Iowa without a current license may be subject to disciplinary sanctions.
Renewal applications are mailed in mid-April to all currently licensed pharmacists whose licenses will expire at the end of June. Completed applications and fees should be submitted to the Board office 30 days prior to expiration to ensure timely processing and to avoid late payment penalties.
The Board of Pharmacy Examiners requires 3.0 CEU each renewal period. Ten contact hours of approved continuing education are equivalent to one CEU. At least 15 contact hours of the required continuing education shall be ACPE-accredited provider activities in drug therapy ("01P" or "02P" in last digits of program number). At least two hours in ACPE pharmacy law activities ending "03P" and two hours in medication/patient safety "05P" are also required.
Reminder: Pharmacists are required to report to the Board within ten days a change of name, address, or employment.
Reactivating a Lapsed License:
A pharmacist whose Iowa license to practice pharmacy has lapsed due to nonrenewal and who wishes to reinstate that license should contact firstname.lastname@example.org for information regarding reactivating a lapsed license.