The Director of the Iowa Department of Inspections and Appeals is authorized to enter into and implement agreements or compacts between the State of Iowa and Native American tribes located in the state. Gaming compacts are entered into under the authority of the Indian Gaming Regulatory Act (25 U.S.C section 2701 et seq.). The agreements or compacts shall contain provisions intended to implement the policies and objectives of the Indian Gaming Regulatory Act.

For more information, contact Rod Roberts, Director, Department of Inspections and Appeals, Lucas State Office Building, Des Moines, IA 50319, 515-281-5457.

Current Indian Casinos in Iowa


Blackbird Bend Casino

Kurt Schmidt, CEO
Blackbird Bend Corporation
17214 210th Street
PO Box 89
Onawa, IA 51040
Phone: 712-423-9646
Fax: 712-423-9694
Elizabeth Homer, Attorney
Phone: 202-955-5601
Fax: 202-955-5605
Russ Brien, Attorney
Phone: 785-863-3500
Fax: 913-548-0691


Omaha Tribal Gaming Commission

Brad Appleton, Chairman
17214 210th Street
PO Box 225
Onawa, IA 51040
Phone: 712-423-9662
Fax: 712-423-9663
Gaming Commission Members (3):
Brad Appleton, Chairman
Darwin Turner, Secretary
Scott Cayou, Sr., Treasurer


Omaha Tribal Council

Clifford Wolfe, Jr., Chairman
100 Main Street
PO Box 368
Macy, NE 68039
Phone: 402-837-5391
Fax: 402-837-5308
Tribal Council (7):
Clifford Wolfe, Jr., Chairman
Doran Morris, Jr., Vice Chair
Tillie Aldrich, Treasurer
Gwen Porter, Secretary
Jeff Miller
Vernon Miller
Adriana Saunsoci


Ben Thompson, General Counsel
Thompson Law Office

13906 Gold Circle
Suite 201
Omaha, NE 68144
Phone: 402-682-8000
Fax: 402-330-3060
Maurice R. Johnson
Attorney General
Omaha Tribe of Nebraska
P.O. Box 368
Macy, NE 68039
Office: (402) 837-5391 ext. 126
Cell: (515) 822-8442
Fax: (402) 837-5308

Meskwaki Bingo & Casino

Charlie Troy, Acting General Mgr.
1504 � 305th Street
Tama, IA 52339
Phone: 641-484-2108  ext: 1472
Fax:      641-484-1618


Sac & Fox Gaming

Holly Youngbear, Chairperson
1504 � 305th Street
Tama, IA 52339
Phone:  641-484-1450
Fax:      641-484-1681
Gaming Commission Members (3):
Holly Youngbear, Chair
Pamela Balderas, Orrie Lasley, Jr.


Sac & Fox Tribal Council

Judith Bender, Chairperson
349 Meskwaki Road
Tama, IA 52339
Phone:  641-484-4678
Fax:      641-484-5424
Tribal Council Members:
Judith Bender, Chair
Troy Wanatee, Vice Chair
Beatrice Young Bear, Treasurer
Tonya Bear, Secretary
Members: Homer Bear, Jr., Jason Davenport, Lavern Jefferson

Steven F. Olson, Attorney
Olson, Allen & Rasmussen, LLC

Commerce Center Bldg., Ste. 200
8200 Humboldt Avenue South
Bloomington, MN 55431-1433
Phone:  952-881-3858
Fax:      952-913-7353




Catherine Colsrud, General Mgr.
1500 � 330th Street
Sloan, IA 51055
Phone: 712-428-9466 or
Fax: 712-428-4219

Casino Employees:
Jackie Tripp, Controller



Winnebago Tribal Gaming
Anthony Earth, Chairperson
1503 � 330th Street
Sloan, Iowa 51055
Phone:  1-800-468-9466
Gaming Commission Members (5):
Anthony Earth, Chair
Damon Payer, Vice Chair
Tyren L. Wolfe, Secretary/Treasurer
Coly Brown, Member
Rona Stealer, Member

Winnebago Tribal Council
John Blackhawk, Chairperson
P.O. Box 687
Winnebago, NE 68071
Phone:  402-878-2272
Fax:      402-878-2963
Tribal Council Members:
John Blackhawk, Chair
Darwin Snyder, Vice Chair
Louis Houghton, Jr., Secretary
Thomas Snowball, Sr., Treasurer
Members: Travis Mallory, Morgan Earth, Larry Payer, Charles Aldrich, Darla LaPointe

Danelle Smith, Attorney
Fredericks, Peebles & Morgan

PO Box 792
Winnebago, NE 68071
Phone 402-878-2416
Fax: 402-333-4078